As a Floridian driver with a suspended license, there may be times in which you're tempted to drive anyway, whether it's to make an important meeting or because the distance is so short that you're certain you won't be caught. However, there are consequences if you are caught, and they aren't anything you would want to deal with.
Penalties for this action in Florida differ depending on the number of convictions you're on. According to the Florida State Legislature, however, even a first conviction for driving on a suspended license might be considered a second degree misdemeanor. You could end up in jail for a maximum of 60 days and paying up to $500. A second conviction could bump you up to a first degree misdemeanor, which would result in a possible year of jailtime in addition to a $1,000 fine.