Jump to Navigation

Posts tagged "Drunk driving"

Fatal crash from 2 years prior reaps heavy consequences

Drinking and driving equates to severe consequences in any state. In Florida specifically, DUI charges are often accompanied by threats of jail time, license suspension or revocation, hefty fines and much more. When felonies or charges like injury or manslaughter are added, it can end up the driver sentenced to a very long term.

Mother arrested for drunk driving picking kids up from school

It may seem shocking to some people that a mother or father would take the risk of driving drunk with a child. However, it can be easy to make assumptions from reading a newspaper article without knowing what actually happened from the parent’s side. It is true that some Fort Myers parents make decisions that are not in the best interests of their children. It is also true that many loving parents can make a mistake without fully realizing the potential consequences. Therefore, it is important that those who are arrested for drunk driving have the chance to tell their story to a judge.

Different BAC levels affect penalties as well as driving ability

A quiet dinner out or a full night of bar-hopping can both end in DUI charges, regardless of the number of drink a person consumes. A police officer’s interpretation of whether a driver appears intoxicated can play a role in an arrest, but the actual blood alcohol content is often a deciding factor on the severity of the penalties. In Fort Myers, even first-time penalties can be steep.

18 month old twins end up in accident with DUI mom

Drinking and driving is consistently problematic, regardless of state, city, age group or anything else. Some social drinkers in Fort Myers, Florida, may know this. While drunk driving can net some hefty consequences, one of the worst possible things that can come from it is someone else getting injured because of a drunk driver.

How can a sober person get arrested during a field sobriety test?

Chances are you may have noticed numerous sobriety checkpoints set up around town during the recent holiday season. Field sobriety tests are common procedures Florida law enforcement uses at checkpoints, as well as routine traffic stops and any other time they suspect a person might be driving while intoxicated. You may wonder if a police officer can mistakenly assume you are drunk even if you haven’t had anything to drink, and if you can be arrested despite being sober. 

How do you reinstate your license after a first DUI offense?

Receiving a DUI is an offense associated with a variety of different penalties, including license revocation. To regain driving privileges, drivers arrested for drunk driving must adhere to a certain procedure after their first DUI conviction. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, drivers must apply for a hardship license in the county where they live before the end of their revocation period. For most drivers convicted of their first DUI, the revocation period lasts between 180 days to a year. For drivers who were arrested for a DUI with serious injury, the revocation period may be as long as three years.

Understanding the basics of blood alcohol content

In Florida, according to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, drivers found operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content level at or above 0.08 may face drunk driving charges. Although most drivers are aware of this standard, many are unsure of whether or not they have surpassed the legal limit or not after a night out, due to the many factors that affect BAC level. These factors include the following:

Dealing with license revocation after a DUI in Florida

Receiving a DUI in Florida leads to a variety of different consequences. Some of these may include fines, fees and driver's license revocation. After being arrested for drunk driving, drivers are required to go without an active driver's license depends on the number of convictions they have received within a certain time period.

Ignition interlock legislation will be brought to the House

An ignition interlock device is a small breath-testing unit, about the size of a cellphone, that a driver must blow into before starting their vehicle. If the driver’s blood alcohol content level is too high for them to drive legally, their car will not start. The main benefit of these devices is that they allow those in Florida convicted of drunk driving to continue to have access to their vehicle and to be able to drive legally.

Florida representative doesn't resign after driving impaired

According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content level at or above 0.08. However, BAC level can vary depending on a person’s gender, weight, rate of consumption and a variety of other factors. This can make it difficult for those who went out and had a few drinks with friends or at a party to determine whether or not they are able to operate a vehicle legally and also makes being arrested for drunk driving an easy mistake to make.

Have a question?
Get An Answer From An Attorney:

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Subscribe to This Blog's Feed Visit Our Criminal Defense Site